Gordon, S.D. – Quiet Talks about Jesus

Quiet Talks about Jesus

Quiet Talks about Jesus
by Samuel Dickey Gordon (1906)

Author of “Quiet Talks on Power,” and “Quiet Talks on Prayer”

This work Quiet Talks about Jesus has 4 sections: A bit ahead (an introduction), the Purpose of Jesus, the person of Jesus, and the Great Experiences of Jesus’ life. The final chaper is study notes for the book. There are about 20 chapters in this work. It is a devotional work.

Contents of Quiet Talks about Jesus

1. A Bit Ahead
2. The Purpose of Jesus.
The Purpose in Jesus’ Coming
The Plan for Jesus’ Coming
The Tragic Break in the Plan
Some Surprising Results of the Tragic Break
3. The Person of Jesus.
The Human Jesus
The Divine Jesus
The Winsome Jesus
4. The Great Experiences or Jesus’ Life.
The Jordan: The Decisive Start
The Wilderness: Temptation
The Transfiguration: An Emergency Measure
Gethsemane: The Strange, Lone Struggle
Calvary: Victory
The Resurrection: Gravity Upward
The Ascension: Back Home Again Until—-

5. Study Notes

“Show me, I pray thee, Thy glory.”–Moses.

“When I could not see for the glory of that light.”–Paul.

“But we all with open face beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord are transformed into the same image from glory to glory.”–Paul.

“The light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”–Paul.

“Since mine eyes were fixed on Jesus,
I’ve lost sight of all beside,
So enchained my spirit’s vision,
Looking at the Crucified.”

–From Winnowed Hymns.

Gordon, Samuel Dickey - Quiet Talks About Jesus
0.9 MiB
Author:Gordon, S.
Date:January 6, 2017